School education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen (Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). School education is 13 years and divided into:

Primary school – Runs for seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten/Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.
Secondary school – Runs for three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.
Senior secondary school – Runs for two years, Years 11 and 12.

School type
  • Private
  • Public
  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Vietnam
  • Victoria
  • New South Wales
  • Western Australia
  • Queensland
  • Tasmania
Sort by ranking
  • Sort by Australian ranking
  • Sort by QS ranking
  • Sort by Times ranking

You next steps


View our upcoming events for international students

Discover More

Book an appointment

Book an appointment to speak to us.

Discover More